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Role model safe driving habits.

Learn about GDL laws and enforce them.

Complete a parent-teen driving agreement.

Nebraska Graduated Driver Licensing [GDL]:

DRIVING RESTRICTIONS

GDL RESOURCES
For more info, contact

402-471-2515
ParentsDriveTheMessage.NE.GOV

www.dmv.nebraska.gov

Cell Phones: Seat Belts: Nighttime
Driving:

Alcohol:

Passengers:

No use of any 
type of 
interactive 
wireless 
communication 
device while 
operating a 
motor vehicle motor vehicle 
while in motion. 
Violation carries 
a $200 fine for 
first offense 
and assessed 
points on 
license. Second license. Second 
offense is a 
$300 fine and a 
third offense is 
$500.

All occupants 
riding with a 
permit holder, 
including the 
driver, must 
wear a seat 
belt. Violation 
carries a $25 carries a $25 
fine. Citation 
issued to GDL 
permit holder.*

Holder of a 
Provisional 
Operator 
Permit (POP) 
shall not drive 
from midnight 
to 6 AM unless 
to or from to or from 
school activities 
or work. 
Violation carries 
a one point 
assessment on 
driving record.*

Holder of a 
School Permit 
(SCP) may only 
transport family 
members who 
reside with 
them to the 
school attended school attended 
by the holder.

A holder of a 
Provisional 
Operator 
Permit (POP) is 
limited to one 
passenger 
younger than 
19 who is not 19 who is not 
an immediate 
family member, 
for the first 6 
months. 
Violation carries 
a one point 
assessment on assessment on 
driving record.*

*ZERO 
TOLERANCE* 
(alcohol and 
other drugs) 
laws for drivers 
under the age 
of 21. First 
offense results offense results 
in court 
suspending 
permit or 
license for 30 
days. A driver 
under 21 is 
subject to the subject to the 
same DUI laws 
as a person age 
21 or over if the 
blood alcohol 
content is .08 
(BAC) or 
greater.*greater.*

*ENFORCEMENT

The above list of violations is not inclusive. 
There are other Nebraska Law violations that 
can affect driving permits and driving privileges
upon judgment of or conviction for the specific
violation.

Violation of ANY driving restrictions can result inViolation of ANY driving restrictions can result in
a suspended or revoked license. Individuals under
21 accumulating six or more points within one year
are required to take a driver improvement course
within three months.

GDL laws are in place for your 
teen’s safety. They keep your 
teen safe by keeping them out 
of situations that put them at 
higher risk for a crash.

Nebraska GDL laws cover Nebraska GDL laws cover 
teens ages 14 to 17. A teen 
driver must hold a POP for one 
year before receiving an 
unrestricted liscense.

NE GDL INCLUDES:

school learners permit, school 
permit, learners permit, provisional 
operators permit.


