
Grant Opportunity for HCBS Agency Providers: 
One-Time Grant Application for Agency Vehicle 

Purchase and Modification! 
 

DHHS is offering an opportunity for providers  
of Medicaid Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Waivers  

to purchase or modify a vehicle. 

The Details 
DHHS is offering mini-grants to strengthen HCBS agency providers and their ability to support the 
transportation needs of their participants and staff. These grants will expand access to the community for 
participants receiving waiver services. The grant is designed for an agency provider to expand its current 
capacity to provide safe and reliable transportation for participants. The vehicle must be used for agency 
purposes only.  
 
These payments are one-time for agency providers of HCBS Waiver services. Grants can provide: 

• Up to $25,000 for the purchase of a new agency vehicle without modifications OR  
• Up to $50,000 to use for vehicle modifications on current vehicle(s) or used toward the purchase of a 

new accessible vehicle.  
 
All new vehicles must be purchased from dealerships located in Nebraska. All vehicles must be registered in 
Nebraska upon purchase or modification. Approved providers must submit their bill of sale within 45 days of 
purchase and will receive payment from DHHS within 30 days. 

How to Apply 
HCBS providers must submit an application form, including a 
statement of the agency’s need for the purchase of a new vehicle 
or modification of an existing vehicle, directly tied to participant 
access and support.   

Applications will be accepted from February 9 
through March 8, 2024. 
 
Grant funding is available through Section 9817 of the American 
Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) of 2021. The total amount available for the 
mini-grants is limited. Applications will be processed by the date 
received and the requested amount may be limited due to available 
funds. 
 
Upon approval of the Pre-Purchase Application, providers will have six months to complete the purchase of a 
vehicle. After the vehicle is purchased, providers have 45 calendar days to submit proof of sale, insurance, and 
registration. DHHS will communicate any provider payment notices, status updates, or follow-up information 
requests within 30 days of submission.  

Use grant funds 
to pay for 

purchasing or 
modifying an 

agency vehicle. 
 


	The Details
	How to Apply

