

Extended Postpartum Coverage Frequently Asked Questions

Nebraska Medicaid is making improvements to Medicaid coverage for postpartum mothers.

Effective January 1, 2024, Nebraska Medicaid will expand postpartum coverage for Mothers from 60 days to 12 months. This change comes after <u>LB 227</u> was signed into law requiring Nebraska Medicaid to extend postpartum coverage from 60 days to a minimum of 6 months.

Medicaid covers approximately thirty-five percent of all births in Nebraska and is vital to safeguarding the well-being of our mothers and their children. This change will ensure that nearly 5,000 mothers across our state will maintain access to a comprehensive range of behavioral and physical health services, as well as additional support. Without this change, these services might be out of reach when it is most crucial for the mother and baby.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. When will these changes happen?

A. These changes will take place on January 1, 2024.

Q. How long will postpartum mothers be eligible for Medicaid after birth?

A. Mothers who received Medicaid-covered services during their pregnancy will be eligible for 12 months of postpartum coverage.

Q. Will mothers need to reapply for Medicaid to benefit from the extended continuous eligibility?

A. No, Nebraska Medicaid will automatically check to see what mothers were enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP while pregnant and will extend their coverage on January 1, 2024, to ensure the mother can access the care she needs. This is true for mothers who lost Medicaid coverage before January 1, 2024, and are still not 12 months postpartum.

If the mother is still a resident of Nebraska, her Medicaid coverage will once again be active.

Q. How will these changes impact the services that are available?

A. These changes will ensure that eligible mothers have access to the healthcare they need for 12 months after they give birth.

Q. What happens if a mother's income changes during her 12-month postpartum period?

A. The mother will maintain her Medicaid coverage for 12 months even if her life circumstances change. She may lose Medicaid coverage after the postpartum period if she no longer qualifies for Medicaid when a renewal is completed.

Q. How can I contact Nebraska Medicaid with questions or concerns?

A.If you have questions about your Medicaid, you can contact ACCESSNebraska from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday in the following ways:

- Online at <u>ACCESSNebraska.ne.gov</u>
- Email at <u>DHHS.ANDICenter@nebraska.gov</u>
- Fax at (402) 742-2351
- Over the phone by calling ACCESSNebraska at:
 - o Omaha: (402) 595-1178

- Lincoln: (402) 473-7000
- Toll-Free: (855) 632-7633
 TDD: (402) 471-7256